Bunker 16 – Contemporary Memorial Art

Project

A venue for contemporary memorial culture

The artist-in-residence program of the Initiative Bunker 16 – Contemporary Memorial Art is a cooperation between Kunsthalle Wien and Brunnenpassage.

Beneath the Yppenplatz, on Vienna’s Brunnenmarkt, a 500 m2 protective bunker from World War II lies hidden. Brunnenpassage plans to make this historic site accessible to the public: a memorial art space is to be created here, which will appeal to the diversity of Vienna’s population with a multi-perspective approach. At Bunker 16 – Contemporary Memorial Art, new space is to be given to the knowledge and experiences of people who experienced war at different times and in different places, through formats that are artistic and discursive as well as biographical and documentary.

A place of silence, of personal remembrance, of participation, of listening, mourning, and creating hope. A place to linger, to focus, to collectively overcome trauma. An art space for immersing oneself and leaving everyday life behind. For peace. The bunker should remain as pure as possible. A historical place that at the same time meets all the requirements of a contemporary gallery space for up to 30 visitors.

In a first project phase in 2022, several art residencies will take place, as well as a comprehensive historical survey including interviews with contemporary witnesses. At the same time, the structural adaptation and the establishment of ongoing cultural activities will be advanced.

We are grateful for the project funding 2022 by the Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport within the program Perspectives Innovation Art.

  
 

RELATED CONTENT

  

TAGS

Bunker 16 – Contemporary Memorial Art

Projekt

Ein Kunstort für zeitgenössische Erinnerungskultur

Das Artist-in-Residence-Programm der Initiative Bunker 16 findet als Kooperation der Kunsthalle Wien und der Brunnenpassage statt.

Unter dem Yppenplatz am Wiener Brunnenmarkt verbirgt sich ein über 500 m2 großer Schutzbunker aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Die Brunnenpassage plant, diesen historischen Ort für die Bevölkerung zugänglich zu machen: Hier soll ein Erinnerungs-Kunst-Raum entstehen, der mit seinem multiperspektivischen Ansatz die Vielfalt der Bevölkerung Wiens anspricht. Im Bunker 16 – Contemporary Memorial Art soll dem Wissen und den Lebenserfahrungen von Menschen, die zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten und an unterschiedlichen Orten Krieg erlebt haben, in künstlerisch-diskursiven und biographisch-dokumentarischen Formaten neuer Raum gegeben werden.

Ein Ort der Stille, des persönlichen Erinnerns, der An-Teilnahme, des Zuhörens, Trauerns und Hoffnung-Schöpfens. Ein Ort des längeren Verweilens, der Fokussierung, der kollektiven Trauma-Bewältigung. Ein Kunstraum zum in die Tiefe-Gehen und den Alltag-Verlassen. Für den Frieden. Der Bunker soll dabei so pur wie möglich bleiben. Ein historischer Ort, der gleichzeitig allen Anforderungen eines zeitgenössischen Galerieraums für bis zu 30 Besucher*innen entspricht.

In einer Pilotphase finden 2022 mehrere Kunst-Residencies sowie eine umfassende historische Bestandsaufnahme samt Zeitzeug*innenbefragung statt. Gleichzeitig werden die bauliche Adaptierung und die Etablierung kontinuierlicher kultureller Aktivitäten vorangetrieben.

Wir danken für die Projektförderung 2022 des BMKÖS / Perspektiven Innovation Kunst.

  
 

RELATED CONTENT

  

TAGS