Rade Petrasevic

KISS

Rade Petrasevic: What If I Never Find Out Who’s a Good Boy
Kunsthalle Wien Karlsplatz

For the second chapter of KISS, Rade Petrasevic is creating a large-scale mural—an open-air frieze, if you will—that covers the full length of the front glass facade of Kunsthalle Wien Karlsplatz. The mural is accompanied by short quotes that run across an LED screen at its top, meant to both contextualize and destabilize the work’s imagery. Categorizing this work as a frieze is not a coincidence, as it exists in close spatial and spiritual proximity to what is perhaps one of the most popular and well-known friezes of recent Western tradition: Gustav Klimt’s famous Beethoven Frieze (1902), which features an array of slightly surreal scenes that induce further interpretation and elaboration from the viewer.

The title What If I Never Find Out Who’s a Good Boy is borrowed—in typical Petrasevic fashion— from a popular meme called Introspective Pug, which features a photograph of a dog, looking out the window from the back seat of a car, accompanied by the words: “I don’t know man, I just … what if I never find out who’s a good boy”.

While memes are often devised to provoke a quick laugh, cheekily pairing images with few words, it is undeniable that they are equally effective as what could be called popular philosophical, critical, and social commentary. In this sense, their modus operandi is most definitely akin to Petrasevic’s deployment of imagery and words.

The figures in Klimt’s frieze speak about “the yearning for happiness, the sufferings of weak mankind”, as well as the “hostile forces […] against whom even gods fought in vain”. They eventually conclude that “the yearning for happiness is assuaged in poetry” and that “the arts lead us to the ideal realm in which we all can find pure joy, pure happiness, pure love”.

In the context of the ongoing pandemic, which has been mercilessly dragging on for more than a year now and is not likely to subside anytime soon, these sentiments could easily be read as a cry for help from a society that is collectively on the verge of exhaustion, that has seen a sharp decline in its mental health, and that is faced with unresolvable moral questions regarding which sort of sacrifices, as well as risk-taking, are justifiable under these extraordinary circumstances.

This is where Petrasevic’s frieze picks up the thread: his figures tell the story of humans desperate for touch and companionship. Awkward, lonely figures enter into strange relationships and exchanges with nonhuman entities. Finally, they talk to their plants (just as mother always suggested); they daydream of the warm and fleshy embrace of a usually lifeless chair; they grow an array of Shiva-like arms in order to cope with the endless number of tasks at hand; and they reach into a void when they look for solace among one another. Teetering on the edge of insanity, they have to constantly weigh how much irresponsibility is defendable versus how much responsibility is actually bearable.

In the course of a year, babies have been born that have only known their parents, only children and their parents are coexisting in despair, teenage angst has gained a hitherto unknown level of intensity, university students are spending their so-called wild years on Zoom, the elderly and vulnerable are withering away under multiple threats, and romantic relations have been catalyzed into existence or oblivion. All the while, the usual dichotomy of work and leisure has dissolved into that of work and sleep—or perhaps work and work?

But this weighing of lesser evils is of course not only practiced within the personal but also within the political realm. According to the medical profession, every life counts and must be saved—so goes the oath—but from a political science perspective, the maxim is to do what is best for most.

Irreconcilable.

But as long as the economy is doing well, the economy is doing well. That is certain.

And in this whole confusion of regulations, lockdowns, and restrictions, where to find the balance between not feeling completely infantilized yet also practicing enough adulting to live a life that still finds time and space for joy, for pleasure, for the erotic—in sexuality and intimacy, but also in all other aspects of existence as well. And preferably without too much guilt, please.

And, really, so what if we never find out who is a good boy, a good girl, or a good enby?

The work of Rade Petrasevic (b. Vienna in 1982, lives and works in Vienna) inhabits a figurative space of pseudonarration, where classical painterly tradition – meaning oil and canvas, the still life genre, and the nude model – effortlessly mingle with marker-pen aesthetics, blunt stereotypes, easily readable commercial signifiers, and plastic shower curtains. Born out of impatience, Petrasevic’s distinct style simultaneously denotes its painterly pedigree while also revealing a more humorous and laid-back approach to the big topics of art history.

The often deceptively simple and seemingly innocent scenes, as well as the use of stereotypes and clichés, allow Petrasevic to freely speak about sexuality, fetishes, bodily transformations, and the tensions between privacy and public. His bold colors, simple shapes, and cheeky titles create instant associations and numerous readings that also suggest approachability, warmth, and intimacy.

Within the framework of KISS Rade Petrasevic creates new work that loosely relates to the politically charged history of the mural but taking on an idiosyncratic form true to Petrasevic’s personal style. His work unapologetically drags painting and art history into public space.

  
 

RELATED CONTENT

  

TAGS

Rade Petrasevic

KISS

Rade Petrasevic: What If I Never Find Out Who’s a Good Boy
Kunsthalle Wien Karlsplatz

Für das zweite Kapitel von KISS wird Rade Petrasevic ein großformatiges Wandbild realisieren – sozusagen ein Open-Air-Fries –, das sich über die gesamte Länge der straßenseitigen Glasfassade der Kunsthalle Wien Karlsplatz erstreckt. Die kurzen Zitate, die direkt oberhalb der Arbeit auf einem LED-Band zu lesen sind, kontextualisieren und konterkarieren die Bildinhalte zugleich. Die Zuordnung zur Kategorie Fries ist kein Zufall, befindet es sich doch in unmittelbarer räumlicher und auch geistiger Nachbarschaft zu einem der vielleicht populärsten Friese der jüngeren westlichen Kunsttradition: Gustav Klimts Beethovenfries (1902). Eine beachtliche Wandarbeit, welche aus einer Abfolge von mitunter surreal anmutenden Szenen besteht und von den Betrachtenden eine tiefergehende Deutung und Auseinandersetzung einfordert.

Der Titel What If I Never Find Out Who’s a Good Boy [Was, wenn ich niemals herausfinde, wer ein braver Junge ist] wurde – typisch für Petrasevic – einem populären Internet-Meme namens Introspective Pug [zu Deutsch etwa: Der selbstkritische Mops] entlehnt: Es zeigt einen Hund auf dem Rücksitz eines Autos, der nachdenklich anmutend aus dem Fenster schaut, untertitelt mit den Worten: „I don’t know man, I just … what if I never find out who’s a good boy.“

Obwohl Memes meist darauf ausgelegt sind, mit gewitzten Bild-Text-Paarungen für schnelles Gelächter zu sorgen, lässt sich auch sagen, dass sie ebenso als populär-philosophischer, kritischer Gesellschaftskommentar ihre Wirkung erzielen. In diesem Sinn ist ihr Modus Operandi durchaus mit Petrasevic’ Einsatz von Bildern und Worten verwandt.

Der Figurenreigen in Klimts Fries erzählt von „der Suche nach dem Glück, den Qualen der leidenden Menschheit“ und von „den feindlichen Gewalten, gegen die selbst Götter vergebens kämpften“. Er gipfelt in dem Schluss, dass „die Sehnsucht nach Glück durch die Poesie Erfüllung findet“ und wir nur in der „idealen Sphäre der Kunst reine Freude, reines Glück, reine Liebe finden werden“.

Im Kontext der gegenwärtigen Pandemie, die nun schon seit über einem Jahr lang gnadenlos auf uns lastet und auch in absehbarer Zeit wohl nicht abklingen wird, können diese Empfindungen unschwer als Hilfeschrei einer Gesellschaft gelesen werden, die kollektiv am Rand der völligen Erschöpfung steht und die sich mit unlösbaren moralischen Fragestellungen konfrontiert sieht, welche Opfer, aber auch Risiken unter diesen außergewöhnlichen Umständen gerechtfertigt seien.

Genau hier setzt Petrasevic’ Fries an: Seine Figuren erzählen die Geschichte von Menschen, die sich verzweifelt nach Berührung und Nähe sehnen. Merkwürdige, einsame Gestalten gehen seltsame Beziehungen mit nicht-menschlichen Entitäten ein. Sie sprechen mit ihren Pflanzen (genau wie Mutter es immer empfohlen hatte); sie sehnen sich in Tagträumen nach der warmen und fleischigen Umarmung des üblicherweise leblosen Sessels; es wachsen ihnen Shiva-artige Arme, um die nie enden wollenden Alltagsaufgaben zu bewältigen; und sie greifen ins Leere, wenn sie eigentlich Trost bei einander suchen. Am Rande des Wahnsinns taumelnd, müssen sie immerfort abwägen, wie viel Unverantwortlichkeit noch vertretbar und wie viel Verantwortung noch erträglich ist.

Im Laufe eines Jahres wurden Babys geboren, die ausschließlich ihre Eltern kennen; Einzelkinder und ihre Eltern koexistieren in fortwachsender Verzweiflung; Adoleszenzängste haben ein bisher ungekanntes Ausmaß erreicht; Studierende verbringen ihre sogenannten wilden Jahre auf Zoom; die Älteren und Verwundbaren verkümmern angesichts der vielfachen Bedrohungen und romantische Beziehungen wurden entweder in eine unmittelbare Existenz oder ins Aus katapultiert. Unterdessen hat sich die gewohnte Dichotomie von Arbeit und Freizeit in eine Zweiteilung des Lebens in Arbeit und Schlaf – oder gar Arbeit und Arbeit? – aufgelöst.

Doch dieses Abwägen der kleineren Übel wird selbstverständlich nicht nur im persönlichen Umfeld, sondern auch in der politischen Arena praktiziert. Vom medizinischen Standpunkt aus zählt jedes Leben und muss gerettet werden – so lautet der Eid –, aus einer politikwissenschaftlichen Perspektive hingegen gilt es, das zu tun, was für die Mehrheit das Beste ist.

Unvereinbar ist das.

Aber solange es der Wirtschaft gut geht, geht es der Wirtschaft gut. Soviel ist sicher.

Und wo kann in all dieser Verwirrung zwischen Verordnungen, Lockdowns und Einschränkungen die richtige Balance gefunden werden, sich nicht gänzlich bevormundet zu fühlen und auch genügend Mündigkeit zu zeigen, um noch Raum und Zeit für Vergnügen, Freude, für Erotik zu finden – in der Sexualität und Intimität, aber auch in allen anderen Aspekten der Existenz? Und das bitte mit möglichst wenig Schuldgefühlen.

Und was ist am Ende schon dabei, wenn wir niemals herausfinden, wer nun ein braver Junge, ein braves Mädchen oder ein braves Enby ist?

Rade Petrasevic (geb. 1982 in Wien, lebt und arbeitet in Wien) arbeitet mit figurativen Pseudonarrativen, in denen klassische Techniken und Genres der Malerei – wie etwa Öl auf Leinwand, Stillleben oder Aktzeichnung – eine entspannte Koexistenz mit Textmarker-Ästhetik, ungehobelten Stereotypen, leicht wiedererkennbaren kommerziellen Symbolen und Plastikduschvorhängen eingehen. Petrasevics ungeduldiger, einprägsamer Stil ist in seinen Wurzeln der Malerei verpflichtet, legt dabei aber auch einen durchaus humorvollen und lockeren Zugang zu den großen Themen der Kunstgeschichte an den Tag.

In den oft nur scheinbar simplen und unschuldigen Szenen hantiert der Künstler verspielt mit Stereotypen und Klischees und kann so auch Sexualität und Fetisch, Körpertransformation und das Spannungsfeld zwischen Privatheit und Öffentlichkeit offen ansprechen. Die leuchtenden Farben, einfachen Formen und frechen Titel ermöglichen unmittelbare Assoziationen und vielfältige Lesarten und transportieren universelle Zugänglichkeit, Wärme und Intimität.

Im Rahmen von KISS realisiert Rade Petrasevic eine neue Arbeit realisieren, die sich lose an die politisch aufgeladene Geschichte der Wandmalerei anlehnt aber in Petrasevics typisch eigenwilligen Stil sowohl Malerei wie auch Kunstgeschichte unverfroren hinaus in den öffentlichen Raum zerrt.

  
 

RELATED CONTENT

  

TAGS