105 results found for community

Museumsquartier
Seminar
Community College Open Workshop: Publishing as …?
6/12 2017
11 am — 6 pm

Workshop: Free admission

What is it that makes publishing such a challenge? What do we show by NOT publishing (e.g. in the case of (self-)censorship)? Is authorship necessarily something personal (as opposed to something collective)? What are strategies of inclusive publishing? Who has a voice within the scheme of publishing? What are reasons to (critically) engage with publishing? What is the aim of publishing? How can we learn from artistic practices of publishing?

The Community College invites you to join a collective one-day-publication effort engaging with these questions in the course of an Open Workshop. Inspired by the exhibition Publishing as an Artistic Toolbox: 1989–2017 we have prepared tools for printing, typing, copying, (over)writing, editing, and will propose some exercises on how to translate “Moments of Joy” as found in the exhibition into a shared publishing experience.

With a contribution by Nicole Alecu de Flers, Head of Zaglossus Publishing (www.zaglossus.eu), on “Publishing from a critical perspective on power relations and discrimination and as an innovative tool for critical knowledge production”.

Part-time attendance is possible. For a detailed schedule of the day and registration please contact: community.college@kunsthallewien.at

Language: English/German (to be agreed upon collectively)

The Open Workshop takes place in the exhibition Publishing as an Artistic Toolbox: 19892017.

The Community College is an open space for reflection on topics and questions that are put up for discussion in exhibitions of the Kunsthalle Wien. The program includes workshops, talks, get-togethers and excursions that connect the presented art with personal experiences and social issues.

83 Ergebnisse gefunden für community

Museumsquartier
Seminar
Community College Open Workshop: Publishing as …?
6/12 2017
11 — 18 Uhr

Workshop: Eintritt frei

Was macht Publizieren zu einer solchen Herausforderung? Was zeigen wir, wenn wir NICHT publizieren (bspw. im Fall von (Selbst-)Zensur)? Ist Autor/innenschaft notwendigerweise etwas Persönliches (vs. kollektiv)? Welche Strategien inklusiven Veröffentlichens stehen uns zur Verfügung? Wer hat eine Stimme? Warum sollte man sich (kritisch) mit dem Publizieren beschäftigen? Was sind die Ziele des Publizierens? Welche Räume eröffnen künstlerische Formen des Publizierens?

Das Community College lädt ein, sich im Rahmen eines eintägigen Workshops mit diesen und weiteren, von den Teilnehmer/innen mitgebrachten Fragen zu beschäftigen. Ziel ist, einen kollektiven Prozess der Herausgeber/innenschaft anzustoßen und am Ende des Tages eine gemeinsam gestaltete Publikation zu haben. Die Ausstellung Publishing as an Artistic Toolbox: 1989–2017 wird dafür zur Pop-Up Publikationswerkstätte erweitert – mit Tools zum Drucken, Tippen, Kopieren, (Ein- und Über)Schreiben und Experimentieren, sowie einigen Aktionsvorschlägen, wie sich durch Zusammenarbeit flüchtige Inspirationen in Gedrucktes übersetzen lassen.

Mit einem Input von Nicole Alecu de Flers, Leiter*in des Verlags Zaglossus (www.zaglossus.eu) zu “Publizieren aus macht‐ und diskriminierungskritischer Perspektive und als innovatives Werkzeug kritischer Wissensvermittlung”.

Stundenweise Teilnahme ebenfalls möglich. Anfragen zu einem detaillierten Ablaufplan und Anmeldung per E-Mail an community.college@kunsthallewien.at.

Sprache: nach Bedarf Englisch und/oder Deutsch

Der Open Workshop findet in der Ausstellung Publishing as an Artistic Toolbox: 1989–2017 statt.

DasCommunity College ist ein offener Reflexionsraum zu Themen und Fragen, die in Ausstellungen der Kunsthalle Wien zur Diskussion gestellt werden. Das Programm umfasst Workshops, Gespräche, Get Togethers und Exkursionen, die die präsentierte Kunst mit individuellen Lebensrealitäten und gesellschaftlichen Fragen in Verbindung bringen.